An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News | May 3, 2018

Three Vannevar Bush Fellows Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Dr. Jennifer Lewis and Dr. Mikhail Lukin, both of Harvard University, and Dr. Umesh Vazirani of the University of California, Berkeley, were recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences for their outstanding scientific achievements.  All three are also Vannevar Bush Fellows.  

Dr. Lukin is a Professor of Physics and Scientific Co-Director of the Harvard Optics Center. He was awarded a 2016 Vannevar Bush Fellowship to develop a new generation of quantum sensors, which could lead to transformative new research directions in fields such as quantum metrology and materials sciences.  Dr. Lewis is the Hansjörg Wyss Professor of Biologically Inspired Engineering at the Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. Her 2016 Vannevar Bush Fellowship was awarded to create programmable architected materials, which could lead to foundational advances in materials science. 

Dr. Vazirani is the Roger A. Strauch Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences and Director of the Berkeley Quantum Information and Computation Center. His 2017 Vannevar Bush Fellowship was awarded to pursue research in quantum information sciences. 

Dr. Lewis, Dr. Lukin, and Dr. Vazirani join 84 members and 21 foreign associates elected to the National Academy of Science in 2018.   Click here for the full list of 2018 newly elected members.